IR2153 Blows UP!

Hi.
I have built this SMPS that is designed by Yamaha with exact same components except for the IGBTs.
At first I have tried to use IFRP450 but after 5 seconds of operation IR2153 burnt out.
So I replaced them with IRF740 and this time my SMPS worked properly.
Since I had a pair of 2SK4106 I decided to give them a try but it resulted in another failure and IR2153 burnt out 5-7 seconds after power on!
My question is what could be possibly the problem? I am not an expert so I did not end up with a solution after studying the datasheets of these 3 components.
I appreciate any help from the professionals which can lead me to understand the physics behind this phenomena.
Thank you in advance.
Yamaha EMX500 Mixer SMPS.jpg

Silvio

Hi Kooroshi60, I do not know if you are using the protection circuit below the main circuit of the IR2153. Apart from the protection side the circuit is quite strait forward. All I can see is an IR2153 with a current amplifier made of totem pole transistors.

The 2153 will burn with these things I am going to mention.

1) Excessive output current from pins 5 and 7. Check the gain of the totem pole transistors. You did not mention them blown every time the IR blows. You can use BD139/40 instead. D120/1 can use 1n4148 instead.

2) Supply rail over 15v this could burn the internal zener. I would put a diode in the output of the 15v regulator, this will drop the voltage a little going to the IR2153 just to be on the safe side. (I know that R106 is protecting against this.)

3) Considering that with IRF740 the smps worked it could be that these where not pulling much current through the gate.

4) Make sure that the IR2153 that you are using is a good quality one. Test it out on the bread board first to see that it has a good waveform on both outputs.

5) Make sure you have all your wiring correct and no mistakes check it carefully.