Phase shifted pwm resonant h-bridge supply !

smps_fan

Dear forum members,

I am a new forum member and I would like to say hello first at all :).

Well like my title says I would like to learn more about phase shifted pwm resonant supplies.
I have read a lot of this type of topology and what I guess is that it´s probably one of the best resonant power supplies you can build.

Do I guess right ? First you may read the text what I will write down.

My pros:
-What I expect from this topology is that it´s 100% short circuit proof because I want to build a lab power supply of it
-I read that the regulation aspects are very stable of the circuit and it´s fixed frequency that needs less filtering
-Very high efficiency often read 96 per cent because of zero voltage switching approach
-H bridge can easy deliver lot of kw power

My cons:
-I am new to smps technology even though I read a lot of smps I had less practice

Since I often haven´t see such a topology build diy and this forum here is the best I have ever seen
I wanted to ask here, if someone build such a supply and can say how easy/complicated it is to build
,if we compare with a hard switched h bridge.

I´m not sure if I should even try to build but I really would like to learn more about this topology !

Thank you for listening and if my english is too bad sorry for that.

Best regards your :)

smps_fan

smps_fan

Found interesting tutorial guide !

I found a app note for a descrete driver version ! It´s interessting because these special ics cost about 10 euros. There is a nice tutorial about the whole thing too but I don´t know some things and have questions. I will try that with a SG3526 I think because I have it lying arround.

What is meant with transformer capacitance ?
How could I calculate/measure that when I wind a transformer ?
To calculate the primary windings can I use the standard formula for a full bridge and go then with it?