Simple smps for 100W audio amplifier needed.

Acca

I Think Acca's smps that's what I need for beginning :) Not complicated, simple and cheap :)

MicrosiM - in audio i'm a little bit more experienced that in smps, my proposal is:

-unregulated ~ 300W power
- Output voltage to be changed by changing number of turns at the secondary side.
- PFC is not required, maybe we can focus on a good filter on the primary side ?
- +/-10% stability is for audio enough
- over current isn't a must, but good idea, more important is that te overvoltage protection works in 100%
- not heavy winding of the transformer(s)
- can't generate much heat - in amplifiers we have enough heat :)

Other technical details of the smps - I don't know, I'm not good at it :)

You ask - why not 1000W ? Because homemade amplifiers are most under 300W. Of course, if the 300W version will be stable, than more powerful one can be built.
My SMPS have all of this.
-300W unregulated
-probably stable voltage
-overcurrent can be easily added,I explained in my theme
-voltage change by number of turns.
-over voltage is not needed,because smps works on max duty,and output voltage is max.
-it don't generate much heat.

Acca

As a start, I think the power supply specifications will look like

1- Unregulated, 800 ~ 1000W SMPS.

2- Output voltage to be changed by changing number of turns at the secondary side.

3- Must use simple and rugged AUX sypply circuit to feed the Oscillator and the Mosfet drivers.

4- Adding PFC will be a big +, but I dont think all DIY can get all parts for the PFC, unless we organize this as a kit, I dont know

5- Half bridge configuration is best option for this medium power SMPS.

6- Over current protection is a must.

7- Must have a Turn On Delay (Line in rush current limiting)

This is for now, hope to hear more

Regards
I have this in my repertoire.
But it's fullbridge-effidency is better,less heat

Acca

At the beginning I want to say hello to everybody :)