Battery Operated Inverted Project

eebaker

Gentlemen,

I am new to this forum. To introduce myself, I am a retired engineer with circuit design experience in broadcast communications and fiber optics. However, I have not had much experience
with SMPS or magnetic circuits other than some cookbook boost converters. So I am catching up on the magnetics and reading your posts, learning a lot.

I am hoping to build a battery operated 230 VAC inverter. There are several different battery scenarios that cover a possible 13 vdc, 24 VDC and 48 VDC. My inverted will be different than most in that it will provide a center tap.

To get some experience, and understanding, I have taken apart a 1200 watt 12 VDC to +/- 50 VDC output converter ( push/pull) available on eBay for $70 that looks very much like the IRAUDPS1 reference design. I have tried winding my own transformers and dropped them into their existing design and made a few observations:

While the "factory" circuit has a waveform at the drain that is picture perfect ie no ringing, the hand wound transformer has dramatic ringing. In addition, the circuit draws more idle current with the hand made transformer. How much ringing is acceptable? I played with some snubbers but it was trial and error. In all cases, the snubber resistors got warm.

Is it possible to saturate the core with small asymmetries in the drive of a push pull ( due to imperfect hand winding??). Would I be better off with a full bridge topology to avoid magnetic creep?

Given I am in a battery operated environment, efficiency is important to me. Is the full bridge topology that much more efficient?

Since I am not driven by accountants on this, what components are worth paying a premium for to improve efficiency? I know that ExcellentIT 7300 will make recommendations, but is there any room for improvement for a few dollars more?