My First SMPS

Rthompson256

This is my first attempt at a SMPS. I was working on a bigger design, but then I thought about how I was going to power the IC's. So I decided to stop and build a supply to run the auxiliaries first. I am posting the schematic here hoping to get some criticism before I construct the PCB. My goal is to get 40v output. So tell me what you guys think.

U1 is a uc3843
U3 is a Tl431

offline_zps075280ef.jpg

Attachments

• offline.jpg
    offline.jpg
    9.5 KB · Views: 160
Last edited:

Rthompson256

So anyways I constructed the pcb and have begun testing. Everything seems to work but my output is awful. The filter cap seems to have no effect. Anyone have an idea of what could make my output so bad? The yellow trace is my gate signal and the blue trace is taken directly of the output filter cap. I have used up to 15000uf and no smoothing occurs.
CAM00468_zps4505b67f.jpg
CAM00467_zpsf7cc6e09.jpg

Last edited:

KX36

This might seem a bit of a rude question, but I think it has to be established first in any troubleshooting... Do you understand the theory of SMPS design, have you done the maths to find the component values etc, can you accurately simulate a switching time domain and an equiavlent linear frequency domain model?

Unfortunately I can't give any further advise with the illegibly small schematic. :(

Rthompson256

Yes I do understand the theory, I did do the maths for every component but the transformer. The transformer is for 5v standby I pulled from an atx supply. I did solve the problem, when I constructed the pcb I phased my auxiliary winding and my output winding backwards. I just got my associates in EET. I am not an engineer yet. How would one perform these simulations?