Noob to the forum

Dr pepper

Hi people.

New here.

I have built a few smps's, including a couple off line, I'm not an expert in such matters but I do have some experience.

Dr pepper

Thanks.
Yes a little in smps applications, and a fair bit in motor control.

I built a nixie clock, ht for the tubes came from a switching supply controlled from the pic16f628a, it was a simple feedbackless loop, brightness was adjustable in software, all the pic did though was generate a variable pulse width, no feedback.

This has been done using something like a pic16f88 using an analogue channel as feedback, this can get real ugly with the control algorithm when you start thinking about things like compensation.

Do you want to build a smps using just a pic and discretes, or do you want to be able to control a smps chip using a micro, the latter is a more practical approach unless your mass producing something and really need to cut costs.

Last edited:

KX36

@Dr pepper;
Welcome!

@demykiko;
Re: your other thread about MCU SMPS:
this. +1.

...it was a simple feedbackless loop...

...this can get real ugly with the control algorithm when you start thinking about things like compensation.

Do you want to build a smps using just a pic and discretes, or do you want to be able to control a smps chip using a micro, the latter is a more practical approach...

Analog control loop adjusted with a DAC or digipot all the way.

Last edited:

demykiko

I'm glad to know that you had successful smps using MCU particularly the pic16f628a..for your information I'm currently doing an smps design using a MCU also
but rather based on Attiny85..Even a feedback less is ok for the meantime, just to make it simple...My target purpose is to have an SMPS with variable output voltage, gradually and manually adjustable via two tact switches..one for increase the other for decrease..I hope for the support from you if you have time..because