New guy here(first SMPS build)

twenglish1

Hello everyone, i am starting a project to build a high power switchmode supply that will act as the power source for a homemade plasma cutter, i don't want to hear start with something easier and lower power since i am new to this, i have made the decision that the best way to learn is to just jump right in and just do it, i also understand all the necessary safety precautions. This power supply i plan to build will have 330v open circuit voltage and need to be limited at 40 amps short circuit current. I am still in the research and design phase. I have decided to use a half bridge inverter design, and i will be driving it with an IR2153. So far i have purchased a lot of EE80 ferrite cores, the mains rectifiers, large filter capacitors, the IR2153 chips, and a lot of large 1200v, 150amp IGBT half bridge modules, i will post my schematic shortly for all to see. i dont have any specific questions as of now, just posting to see if anyone has any input or pointers that could help me along with this project

MicrosiM

Administrator
Staff member